Our Curriculum

Our Curriculum

Early Years Learning Framework

A new, national early learning framework for children from birth to five years has been developed. The Early Years Learning Framework has been developed to ensure your child receives quality education programs in their early childhood setting. This is a vital time for them to learn and develop.

The Framework's vision is for all children to experience play-based learning that is engaging and builds success for life.

It is a guide for early childhood educators who work with children from birth to five years. They will use the Framework in partnership with families, children's first and most influential educators, to develop learning programs responsive to children's ideas, interests, strengths and abilities, and to recognise that children learn through their play.

The Early Years Learning Framework describes childhood as a time of belonging, being and becoming.
* Belonging is the basis for living a fulfilling life. Children feel they belong because of the relationships they have with their family, community, culture and place.
* Being is about living here and now. Childhood is a special time in life and children need time to just 'be'—time to play, try new things and have fun.
* Becoming is about the learning and development that young children experience. Children start to form their sense of identity from an early age, which shapes the type of adult they will become.

The Framework and supporting documentation can be found at www.deewr.gov.au/Earlychildhood/Programs/EarlyChildhoodEducation

The Australian Curriculum Assessment, Curriculum and Reporting Authority

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is the independent authority responsible for the development of a national curriculum, a national assessment program and a national data collection and reporting program that supports 21st century learning for all Australian students.

ACARA's work is carried out in collaboration with a wide range of stakeholders, including teachers, principals, governments, State and Territory education authorities, professional education associations, community groups and the general public.

ACARA is responsible for:
*  A national curriculum from Kindergarten to Year 12 in specified learning areas.
*  A national assessment program aligned to the national curriculum that measures students' progress.
*  A national data collection and reporting program that supports:
o analysis, evaluation, research and resource allocation; and
o accountability and reporting on schools and broader national achievement

For more information please visit www.acara.edu.au