O'Connor Cooperative School

An ACT Public School
Together we learn   Together we grow

School Board

Each government school in the ACT is administered by a school board whose membership comprises the school principal, two elected staff members, three elected members of the parent body and a nominee of the Department of Education. Elected members normally serve for a two-year period.

The Board is the policy-making body of the School. Its major functions are to:

  • determine the educational policies to be implemented at the School
  • assess, from time to time, the needs of the School in relation to the provision of buildings and facilities, equipment, funds and teachers and other staff, and make recommendations to the Chief Executive (of the Education and Training Directorate) with respect to the meeting of those needs
  • determine the purposes for which funds made available for the School are to be expended
  • make recommendations to the Chief Executive in respect of the use of the buildings, facilities and equipment of the School for purposes other than school purposes
  • develop relationships between the School and the community and between the School and community organisations
  • make recommendations to the Chief Executive on matters relating to the School

Responsibility for the implementation of policies established by the Board rests with the Principal and staff.

Bookmark and Share

Languages | Sitemap | Privacy | Disclaimer | Copyright Page last updated on 12 May 2012 CRICOS Registration Number : 00643J